Sponsored School Search


Training for Bounty Hunter Jobs in Delaware

If you wish to join the bounty hunter profession in Delaware, you should complete the following steps:

Evaluate your Qualifications in Delaware
Complete the Required Training and Education in Delaware
Apply for your Delaware State License
Contact Potential Employers in Delaware
Maintain your Delaware License

In Delaware, the Delaware State Police are responsible for licensing bail enforcement agents.  While the process is not as rigorous as it is in some states, you may wish to take the time understand the procedure in detail.  Because of the nearby proximity of Maryland and Virginia, as well as the District of Columbia, it may also be in your best interests to learn the requirements for fugitive pursuit in neighboring states, which fugitives may attempt to flee to.

 


 

Step 1: Evaluate Your Qualifications in Delaware

The Delaware State Police require that all bail enforcement agents meet the following standards:

  • At least 21 years of age
  • Have no felony convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude
  • Have no theft of drug convictions with the past seven years
  • Has not been committed to a mental hospital
  • Have no convictions related to organized gang activity
  • Have no offenses involving police officer impersonation

 


 

Step 2: Complete the Required Training and Education in Delaware

An associate’s or bachelor’s degree in a relevant field of study provides academic preparation that may be advantageous if you are seeking to further your career by eventually pursuing a police officer or private investigator job.  A college education may also provide the critical thinking skills needed to pass the Bail Enforcement Training Course.  This class is a pre-requisite for licensure and includes instruction on:

  • Constitution & Bill of Rights
  • Laws of Search and Seizure of Wanted Persons
  • Laws of Arrest
  • Police Jurisdiction
  • Use of Deadly Force

If you wish to obtain advanced training and certification in firearms, handcuffs, baton or mace, you must complete an additional 40 hour course that has been approved by the state of Delaware. Both of these courses are offered through state certified training academies and several local colleges.

 


 

Step 3: Apply for a Delaware State License

To become licensed as a Delaware Bail Enforcement Agent, you must perform the following steps:

  • Submit a signed, completed application to the Delaware Division of State Police
  • Provide proof of completion of the Bail Enforcement Training course
  • Provide certifications in firearms, baton, mace and handcuffs if applicable
  • Provide a $75 licensing fee through cash, certified check, credit card, or money order payable to the Delaware Division of State Police

 


 

Step 4: Contact Potential Employers in Delaware

You may be able to find bounty hunter jobs in Delaware with some of the following bail bond companies:

  • Delaware Bail Bonds
  • 1st Choice Bail Bonds
  • T & H Bail Bonds
  • 24/7 Bail Out Now

 


 

Step 5: Maintain your Delaware Licensure

In order to qualify for license renewal after the expiration of your current four year license, you must take the eight hour re-certification course and file a renewal application along with the requisite licensing fee.

To join a bounty hunter association, you may wish to contact the following organizations:

 

Sources: http://dsp.delaware.gov/bailenforcementagents.shtml

Back to Top