- Strayer University - Bachelors of Science Degree in Criminal Justice
The following steps will take you through the licensing process as you learn how to become a bail bondsman in Nevada:
As a bail bondsman in Nevada, you will assist people legally stay out of jail while their court cases are developed, while also earning a good living if you manage your business well. As a bail bondsman working in Las Vegas or anywhere in the Silver State, your duty will be to act according to the law that governs your profession. Knowing the rules can mean the difference between a successful business and jail time or fines.
Step 1. Meeting Nevada Minimum Qualifications
Your first step in becoming legally able to work as a bail agent will be to ensure you meet the Nevada bail bondsmen license requirements:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have resided in Nevada for at least one year
- Be trustworthy, competent, and financially responsible
- Have no convictions for crimes of moral turpitude
- Have no outstanding child support obligations
- Not be employed as any of the following:
- Police officer, sheriff’s deputy, sheriff, or constable
- Municipal judge
- Justice of the peace
- Correctional officer or jailer
Step 2. Nevada Bail Bondsman School Requirements and Education
Before you can apply for licensure with the state you will need to complete a 20-hour course of training for bail bondsman jobs in Nevada. The course must be in the surety bond area of insurance and offered by an approved institutuion. After completing your pre-licensing education you will be ready to pass the insurance exam.
You should also remember that as you enter into the bail bondsman field you will be up against competitive colleagues in the field, and will also need to operate in accordance with Nevada State laws and regulations. Having a sturdy foundation in field-related skills is highly advantageous if not essential. Certification or a degree through some form of bounty hunter school in any of the following areas of study will demonstrate competence to both your clients and your competition:
- Finance and Insurance
- Criminal Justice
- Law Enforcement
- Investigative Techniques
Step 3. Nevada Insurance Exam, Appointment, and Bond
Insurance Exam – You will also need to pass the Nevada Division of Insurance exam for a surety line of credit. This is administered through the Division’s vendor Pearson VUE and you can register online. With your previous 20 hours of prelicensing education completed you will be ready to pass this exam, for which the vendor also offers a handbook and other test information online.
Insurance Appointment – Once you have passed the insurance exam you will need to find an insurance company that will appoint you with power of attorney to be a representative surety agent. This involves contacting companies that can be found in local directories or through internet searches.
Bond – Finally you will need to file a $25,000 bond in favor of the people of the State of Nevada with a surety insurer. Surety insurance bond companies are also advertised on the internet and in local directories.
Step 4. Applying for Licensure with the Nevada Commissioner of Insurance
The Nevada Commissioner of Insurance gives candidates a choice of two contracting agencies through which to submit an application for bail bondsman licensure. You may choose to submit your primary application through either:
Once the initial application is approved it will be forwarded to the Commissioner of Insurance for consideration. As part of a complete application packet to be licensed as a bail bond agent, you will also need to submit the following to the Nevada Commissioner of Insurance:
- Set of fingerprints and authorization for a criminal background check
- Proof of completion of the 20-hour bail bond course
- Proof that you have filed a $25,000 bond with an authorized surety insurer
- Proof that you have passed the insurance exam
- Certified copy of bail agent’s appointment by power of attorney from an approved insurance company
Once you are approved for your license you must register with the sheriff and district court clerk every year by July 1st, having a valid bail agent license at the time of each registration.
Step 5. Nevada License Renewal
Your license is valid for three years and must be renewed by the last day of the month in which it expires. To renew your license you will need to submit the following to the Commissioner of Insurance:
- Proof of three hours of continuing education
- Written and signed request for renewal
- You must also maintain the following
- No convictions for drug offenses, felonies, or crimes of moral turpitude
- $25,000 bond
- Any child support payments
- Appointment by an insurance company as authorized for bail bonds
Step 6. Other Useful Information
Because bail bond agents work in a field that can change rapidly in reaction to local and national events, it is important you stay informed about the most recent laws that regulate your profession. This means keeping up on the news but also with the Nevada Legislature.
Current tips often overlooked by bail bondsmen in Nevada include:
- If bail agents employ bounty hunters for more than 30 days in a year they must provide this information to the Commissioner of Insurance
- To get on the statewide list of licensed bail agents you need to have an active insurance appointment and a fiduciary account. Provide proof of these to the Nevada Division of Insurance at least one month before January 1st and July 1st of each year to be on the most current list