- A.S. in Criminal Justice, B.S. in Criminal Justice - Criminology, and M.S. in Criminal Justice
- Online Associate and Bachelor's Criminal Justice Programs
- B.S. in Justice Studies and M.S. in Criminal Justice: Law Enforcement
The process to follow to become a bail bond agent in Vermont is:
|Meet General Vermont Qualifications|
|Complete Desired Education Requirements in Vermont|
|Pass the Vermont Licensing Examination|
|Become Sponsored by an Insurer and Apply for Licensure in Vermont|
|Now that you’re a Licensed Bail Bond Agent in Vermont|
Bail bondsmen in Vermont are called Bail Bond Agents. All Bail Bond Agents in Vermont must be licensed and appointed by a sponsoring insurer in order to legally perform bail bond agent duties. Licensed bail bond agents may act on behalf of a sponsoring insurer/surety to execute a bail bond for a person who is being released on bail from a criminal case in Vermont. Opportunities for bail bond agents, who are licensed insurance producers in Vermont, are expected to grow by 1.5 percent each year between 2010 and 2020, according to the Vermont Department of Labor.
Step 1. Meet General Qualifications for Bail Bond Agents in Vermont
In order to become a licensed bail bond agent in Vermont, you must:
- Be 18 years old or older
- Pass a written exam
- Be financially responsible, competent and trustworthy
- Be appointed by a sponsoring insurer
- Submit a license application with the proper fees
Step 2. Complete Desired Education for Vermont Bail Bond Agents
Having extensive knowledge of state and federal laws and the criminal justice system can help you to pass the licensing exam and perform the duties of a Vermont bail bond agent more efficiently.
The following degrees are beneficial for prospective bail bond agents in Vermont:
- Associate of Science: Criminal Justice
- Associate of Arts: Criminal Justice
- Bachelor of Business Administration: Management
- Bachelor of Arts: Criminal Justice
- Diploma in Legal Studies
Step 3. Pass the Bail Bond Agent Licensing Exam in Vermont
Next, you must pass the required exam for licensure of bail bond agents in Vermont. The Vermont Producer’s Exam for Bail Bond Series consists of 60 multiple-choice questions, which you must complete in one hour. Questions will be based upon the following topics:
- Insurance regulation – 20 percent of the exam:
- Unfair trade practices
- Trust accounts
- Federal regulation
- Legal framework – 10 percent of exam
- Powers and authority of producers
- Court jurisdiction
- Bail bond principles and practices – 70 percent of exam
- Parties to a surety bond
- Duties of a bail bond producer
- Types of bonds
- Court procedures
- Release of surety
- Surrender of principal
- Bond forfeiture
Practice exams are available online at Prometric’s website for $25. Register online to take the Vermont Producer’s Exam for Bail Bond Series. It costs $73 to take this exam, payable by cashier’s check, company check, money order (all payable to Prometric), MasterCard or Visa. The exam is given at Prometric testing centers in cities across Vermont and in neighboring states, including:
- Williston: 600 Blair Park Rd, Suite 326
- Concord, NH: 261 Sheep Davis Rd, Suite 3
- South Portland, ME: Corner of Darling Ave and Foden Rd.
- Portsmouth, NH: 200 Griffin Rd, #4
Step 4. Become Sponsored by an Insurer and Apply for Licensure as a Bail Bond Agent in Vermont
After passing the exam, the next step in becoming a bail bond agent in Vermont is to be sponsored by a sponsoring insurer/surety company. Only bail bond agents who are appointed by an insurer may legally become licensed to work in the state of Vermont. Once you are licensed, other insurers can submit appointments for you without requesting additional documentation from you.
When you become sponsored by an insurer in Vermont, you are ready to apply for licensure as a bail bond agent in Vermont. You must submit the following information to your sponsoring insurer in order to become licensed:
- Completed NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Producer License/Registration
- Your original score report showing that you passed the Vermont Producer’s Exam for Bail Bond Series
- If you are a Vermont resident, an application fee of $300 and license fee of $30 via check/money order payable to the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation; or
- If you are not a Vermont resident, an application fee of $30 and a biennial license fee based upon the state in which you live (see this chart for corresponding state fees)via check or money order payable to the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
It is the responsibility of the sponsoring insurer to attach the NAIC Appointment/Termination Form to your application and submit it to the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation.
Step 5. Now That You’re a Licensed Bail Bond Agent in Vermont
Congratulations! You are now a licensed bail bond agent in Vermont! Your license is valid from April 1st to March 31st of odd years. You will receive a renewal notice from the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation at the beginning of the odd year. The renewal fees will be posted online by the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation at the beginning of the next renewal period.
You must also complete continuing education (CE) during each renewal period to maintain your license. If you are a resident of Vermont, you must complete 24 CE hours each renewal period, with only six credit hours in insurance agency management courses. At least three CE hours must be in Ethics. Find approved CE courses and providers through the Sircon/Vertafore website. (If you are a nonresident of Vermont, consult the National Insurance Producer Registry to determine the CE and other license renewal requirements you must complete).