- A.S. in Criminal Justice, B.S. in Criminal Justice - Criminology, and M.S. in Criminal Justice
- Online Associate and Bachelor's Criminal Justice Programs
- B.S. in Justice Studies and M.S. in Criminal Justice: Law Enforcement
The steps required to become a bail bondsman in Alaska include:
|Determine your Eligibility in Alaska|
|Complete Alaska Training and Educational Requirements|
|Pass the Alaska State Licensing Exam|
|Apply for a Alaska State License|
|Find Employment in Alaska|
Unlike the common perception that bail bondsmen are backroom dealers who use sleazy tactics to coerce their clients to pay back their bonds or hire roughnecks to apprehend fleeing clients, the majority of bail bondsmen are financial managers who rarely use bounty hunters. In 2012, the bail industry was estimated conservatively at almost $2 billion in revenue annually, with about 30 insurance companies that support the majority of these bail companies.
In Alaska, the bail bondsman profession is regulated and licensed by the Alaska Division of Insurance. The actual title for professionals in this occupation is bail bonds limited producer, which refers to the professional status as an insurer. Like most bail bondsmen in the U.S., Alaska bail bonds limited producers offer bail bonds for defendants awaiting trial in return for a fee, usually about ten percent of the bond amount. The Alaska Division of Insurance maintains authority over these transactions because this is considered a surety or insurance transaction.
There are three types of bonds issued to defendants in Alaska:
- Cash bonds require that the defendant or their family or friend pay for the entire bail amount.
- A cash corporate bond allows the defendant, relative or a bail bondsman to post the bail amount.
- An unsecured bond does not require up-front payment, but if the defendant misses a court date they will be required to pay the bail amount.
Step 1: Determine Your Eligibility in Alaska
To become a bail bonds limited producer in Alaska you must possess the following qualifications:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a U.S. citizen or possess a work permit or permanent residency
- Must be a resident of Alaska and provide an Alaska address
- Must possess an email and fax number
- Must pass the state licensing exam
- Must be able to pay the $75 licensing fee with a credit card, along with a $59 fingerprint fee
- Must be trustworthy and competent
Step 2: Complete Pre-licensing Training Requirements in Alaska
In Alaska, all insurance professionals, including bail bond limited producers, must take the state licensing exam for their profession and pass it. The preparation for this examination may be used independently by purchasing the Alaska Bail Bond Limited License Study Guide or attending a pre-licensing course. Alaska does not mandate that candidates complete a pre-licensing course, but these courses can provide valuable knowledge about the exam, bail bondsmen licensing procedure and profession.
Step 3: Pass the Alaska State Licensing Exam
The Alaska Insurance Producer Exam is available through Pearson Vue, an independent test provider. The exam is comprised of 50 multiple choice questions which must be completed within 60 minutes, and a score of 35 is required to pass. The exam fee is $104 for first time test takers, or $89 for repeat exams. Candidates may apply for the exam here.
Step 4: Apply for an Alaska State License
To earn a license as an Alaska bail bond limited producer, candidates must complete the following steps.
- Visit the National Insurance Producer Registry website
- Apply for the license here
- Provide the $75 licensing fee through a credit card or electronic payment
- Submit fingerprints and a $51.50 fingerprint fee to
Alaska Division of Insurance
P.O. Box 110805
Juneau, AK 99811-0805
- Print the license using the Alaska print application here
The bail bond limited producer license is good for two years (or 27 months if issued within three months of birthday). In order to qualify for license renewal at the end of this period, you must complete at least 24 continuing education credit hours prior to expiration of your current license. At least three of those continuing education hours must be devoted to business insurance ethics training. The renewal license fee for an individual is $50; for an individual in a firm $35; and for a firm $100.
Step 5: Find Employment in Alaska
Newly licensed bail bondsmen may choose to join an already established bail company or found their own bail company. There are many bail companies who may be willing to employ a newly licensed bail professional including Alaska Pretrial Services or Valley Bail Bonding.
If you would like to meet other bail bondsmen in Alaska, you may be able to meet them through