If you want to learn how to become a licensed bail bondsman in Oklahoma, you must meet the requirements set forth by the Oklahoma Insurance Department. You can do so by completing the following steps:
|Meet Minimum Requirements in Oklahoma|
|Complete Education Requirements in Oklahoma|
|Take the Oklahoma Exam|
|Apply for your Oklahoma License|
|License Maintenance in Oklahoma|
The Oklahoma Insurance Department is responsible for licensing and regulating bail bondsman in the State of Oklahoma through four lines of authority: professional, surety, cash, and property.
Step 1. Meet Minimum Requirements in Oklahoma
Before pursuing a career as a bail bondsman in Oklahoma, you must first ensure you meet the minimum requirements for licensure, which include the following:
- You must be at least 21 years old.
- You must be a U.S. citizen.
- You must have at least one year of Oklahoma residency.
- You must possess a valid Oklahoma driver’s license.
- You must possess either a high school diploma or GED.
- You must have no outstanding warrants or felony convictions.
Step 2. Complete Educational Requirements in Oklahoma
Many individuals seeking a career as a bail bondsman choose to complete a formal education program such as an associate’s or bachelor’s degree in criminal justice or criminology, as it is common for individuals seeking other careers in this field to first become a bail bondsman so as to gain valuable experience.
The Oklahoma Insurance Department requires that all individuals applying for a bail bondsman license complete at least 16 hours of pre-licensing education provided by the Oklahoma Bondsman Association.
Pre-licensing courses through the Oklahoma Bondsman Association (OBA) are typically held on the first Thursday and Friday of each quarter. The registration fee for the course is $1,200, and a $200 advance deposit must be received at least 7 days before the start of the class. The balance of the fee must be paid on the first day of class.
To schedule your pre-licensing class, you must call 405-524-5920 or 1-866-374-6257.
Step 3. Take the Oklahoma Bail Bondsman Examination
Upon the completion of your pre-licensing course, you must take the bail bond examination, which is administered by Psychological Services Inc. (PSI). After completing the education course, the OBA will provide you with an Education Verification form (Form BCE3) and a Certificate of Course Completion form (Form BCE4), both of which you will need to provide to PSI on the day of your examination.
Online examination scheduling information through PSI is found on the Oklahoma Insurance Department’s website. The cost of taking the exam through PSI is $100. You can prepare to take the examination by studying the Insurance Examination Candidate Information bulletin.
You must score at least 70 percent to pass the exam, and you will know if you passed immediately upon completing the exam. If you fail the exam, you must wait at least 30 days to retake it. If you fail the examination 3 times, you must wait at least one year to retake the exam.
PSI will notify the Oklahoma Insurance Department of your passing score. You must wait at least 2 business days after passing the exam before you can apply for your bail bondsman license.
Step 4. Apply for a Oklahoma Bail Bondsman License
You can apply electronically for your bail bondsman license (and pay the $350 fee, which includes the application and investigation fee) through NPIR.
You must also provide the Department with the following documents:
- Copy of your high school diploma or GED certificate
- A copy of your Oklahoma driver’s license
- One passport (2”x2”) photo
- A records check from your county sheriff’s office showing that you have no arrest record or outstanding warrants
- Two fingerprint cards (Take your fingerprint cards to your local sheriff’s office so your prints can be obtained.)
Mail all documents to:
Oklahoma Insurance Department
Five Corporate Plaza
Bail Bond Division
3625 NW 56th Street, Suite100
Oklahoma City OK 73112
Step 5. Get to Work Maintain your Oklahoma Bail Bondsman License
You can look up Oklahoma bail bond agencies through the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s online search engine.
The Oklahoma Bondsman Association also maintains a current list of Approved Surety Companies in Oklahoma.
Your bail bondsman license in Oklahoma must be renewed biennially on the last day of your birth month. At the time of renewal, you must provide the Insurance Department with proof of the completion of at least 16 hours (8 hours annually) of continuing education.